The Persuasion of Limes

I am a sucker, yes I said it!

When it comes to food gadgets or plants/seeds…I can’t say no…it is impossible.

Case in point:  Last week I went to Ace Hardware with the strict plans to leave with just stakes and ties for my tomato plants.  I had all intentions of being strong, nothing else was coming home with me…I swear!…..

Until I saw it…a simple, non-threatening, white sign and written on it the dangerous words…50% off plants.  That was it, there was no chance for me…I was doomed.

What did I buy?  I got the cutest, most outstanding lime tree…well actually it looks more like a bush.  A very thorny bush at that, didn’t know limes had thorns and boy do they hurt!  But….anyhoo…Right now it is a container lime tree and probably will stay that way so it will stay nice and small.  There are already a couple dozen mini limes (so cute and small)…and just as many blooms, all with baby limes budding out of of the center (like the one above).

I am super excited and cannot wait until they mature.  When they do, I will need all the lime filled recipes imaginable!  Any suggestions???

3 responses to this post.

  1. hmm, since i am thai and i don’t really know much of the western recipe, my suggestion would be Tom Yum (spicy soup with any kinds of meat you’d like to put in. usually we do shrimps or chicken) and Som Tum (spicy papaya salad). thai cuisine uses a great deal of lime so you should check some of them out! 🙂 type the 2 words above in google for the recipes. 🙂

    Reply

    • I will be googling those right away! I love Thai food but haven’t attempted to make it myself just yet. This is a good excuse to try my hand at it!

      Reply

  2. Oooh this is such a cute flower.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

